• Notting Hill College

The Five Pillars of an Effective Training Cycle

By Soha Tarek

Preparing a successful training session is easy so long as the trainer has an organized mindset and is able to order the five pillars of the training cycle correctly.

This blog will explain what the five pillars are and will help guide you as a trainer towards delivering valuable training in a healthy learning atmosphere.

1) Stage One - Planning

The first stage of the cycle is planning. Planning is your gateway towards leading a group of learners effectively. It is the act of " Thinking in Advance" to implement the setting objectives with the available resources in the appropriate learning environment. Planning helps you define the full scope of a project but it also helps you stay focused, set goals and objectives, meet deadlines, measure success and debrief the entire project

2) Stage Two - TNA

TNA (Training Needs Analysis) is key to understanding the range of learners needs such as social, intellectual, emotional and beliefs. It is the second key stage in the training cycle. In understanding these, the trainer can tailor their syllabus and delivery of the content in order to meet the learning objectives in a way which is suitable to the learners.

TNAs could be done through interviewing learners before the course starts or during the application process issued by the organization providing the course.

3) Stage Three - Delivery

Delivery is the third stage in the learning cycle. During this stage trainers should aim to satisfy the different types of learners established in stage two, as each individual has their own preferences when it comes to digesting information.

For example, the VARK model determines four types of learners; visual, aural, read/write and kinaesthetic. There are a variety of other models which categorise learners differently.

Due to the individualism of learners, trainers must be well prepared with a sufficient variety of sources and learning to ensure nobody is lost along the learning journey.

Trainers should also take care to make sure learners are surrounded with a positive and safe atmosphere as well as a clear overview of the lesson objectives and their relation to the course as a whole.

4) Stage Four - Assessment

The assessment strategy is the fourth stage in the training cycle, and it is achieved through both formative and summative.

Formative assessment:

Formative assessment is usually informal; it assesses students understanding to curriculums or skills prior to scoring.


  • inventing an informal quiz based on a popular documentary movie to ask questions to a group of learners at the end of each theory session.

  • Students can devise questions about the content they learn and then quiz each other or asking students to draw a panel using pictures to demonstrate their understanding.

Summative assessment:

Summative assessment occurs at the end of an aspect of learning, it provides evidence of achievement after a period of instruction to judge and evaluate learners absorption, it is fundamental for accredited course and is often prescribed by the awarding bodies.


  • assignments and workplace observation provided by awarding organization particularly if the learner will earn a qualification.

5) Stage Five - Evaluation

The final stage in the training cycle is “evaluation”, which could be carried out verbally, through an evaluation form or through an evaluation activity to review the course effectiveness.

The aim of the evaluation process is reviewing and checking continuously what needs to be improved in the course and what needs to be changed, in order to improve and consolidate the course with the latest updates and techniques including the content, delivery methods, learners satisfaction and assessment strategies.

For a more in depth look at our Teacher Training Programs please visit - https://www.nottinghillcollege.co.uk/teacher-training-courses

#education #training #thefivepillars #trainingcycle #tot #teachertraining

77 views0 comments
Contact Us

Address: 19, Waters Edge Business Park, Modwen Road, Salford, Greater Manchester, M5 3EZ,  United Kingdom

Main Reception: 

Tel: +44 161 513 1359  

Email: manchester@nottinghillcollege.co.uk

Student Enquiries: 

Tel: +44 161 513 1355

Email: student.advisor@nottinghillcollege.co.uk

Notting Hill College is registered in England and Wales as Notting Hill College LTD No. 5042086. Notting Hill College UKRLP: 10028428 

WhatsApp us from 9:00am to 4:30pm (GMT)

+44 161 513 1352

Follow Us
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

© Notting Hill College 2021