Young Teacher

Level 3 Award in

Understanding Principles and Practices of Assessment

Become a Qualified Assessor

Regulated qualifications ID: 601/3913/4


The Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment is an ofqual regulated qualification. It is a knowledge-based Award for those who are embarking a career in assessment. The qualification provides learners with the opportunity to develop skills, knowledge and understanding to enable them to perform the role of an assessor.


Learning Outcomes

  • Understand the principles & requirements of assessment.

  • Understand different types of assessment methods.

  • Understand how to plan assessment.

  • Understand how to involve learners and others in assessment.

  • Understand how to make assessment decisions.

  • Understand your own contribution to the quality assurance of assessment.

  • Understand how to manage information relating to assessment of occupational competence.

  • Understand the legal and good practice requirements in relation to assessment.

Who is this course for?

  • Those who are not yet, or just starting a career in assessment in either the further education and skills sector, or private sector.
  • It is useful for those who are not directly involved in assessment, but require some knowledge on assessment practice as part of their role.
  • It assists those who work in accredited, or non-accredited learning: the NQF and the RQF


One module: Understanding the principles & practices of assessment

Delivery and Duration

Duration: 30 hours You can study this course through Distance learning or Hybrid Learning How does each mode of study work? Distance Learning For the self-guided, busy individual who wants full control over their learning. With this mode you will be given 24/7 access to the Learning Management System where you will find all course information and resources, Then you can study and submit assignments at your own pace. You will still have access to a tutor should you have any questions. Hybrid Learning With this mode of learning, you will receive all the benefits of Distance Learning plus up to twelve hours of one-to-one support with an expert tutor who will guide you through the course. The schedule is flexible and will be determined between yourself and our admission team in the UK upon enrolment.


This theory Award does not require a workplace observation visit. You will be assessed through a series of written questions. Certification is The Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment.

Why choose NHC Level 3 Award in Understanding Principles and Practices of Assessment?

We are an accredited British institute that aims to provide the best learning experience and opportunities to grow as a teacher.

  • Enrolling with NHC means;
  • You'll achieve a British accredited certificate that is valuable worldwide
  • Choosing your own flexible learning schedule
  • Saving money with affordable payment plans
  • Getting access to hours of additional resources to facilitate the learning process
  • Choosing a mode of study that best suits your needs and learning style
  • The chance to keep up to date with the latest trends in Teacher Training
  • Access to expert British teachers
  • Access to recordings of live sessions if you're studying Virtual Campus, so you never miss a lesson
  • Lifetime verification services for your certificate
  • Excellent support and communication services
You'll be joining thousands of teachers worldwide who have qualified from one of our courses!


  • Good Command of English reading & writing skills
  • Knowledge of the subject you wish to assess


This qualification is awarded by TQUK who are accredited by Ofqual, the non-ministerial government body who regulate exams and qualifications in the UK. Students who finish this course will receive a TQUK and Notting Hill College certificate


Notting Hill College

Welcomes students from all over the world